Mercury Grand Marquis:

Overheating problems

You are not logged in.

# 1  5/23/2011 2:43 AM

Brandon82

Overheating problems

I'm new to this so please be patient. I have an 89 Grand Marquis that I love but the repairs are killing me. Started off as a great car I bought off craigslist. FIRST MISTAKE: I put green antifreeze in it and it had I think the gold kind. It caused a muddy mixture and my problems began. I replaced the radiator and water pump, seemed  to be fine until the transmission overdrive gear went out. I had no other transportation and like a dummy kept driving all the way until the tranny went completely out. I ended up getting a used transmission which still slips in first gear so then I had a huge antifreeze leak and had someone change the upper and lower intake manifold gaskets, problem NOT solved. I ended up having the head gaskets changed, freeze plugs, some heater something (forgot the name) tune up basically a thousand dollar job. Now that its getting hot my car is doing the same thing it did last year when it started getting hot, getting hot and over heating with antifreeze literally boiling in my overflow. I really can't afford those same repairs again this year. Tomorrow I'm going to change the thermostat. If this doesn't work I'm completely lost and would appreciate any suggestions and or input. I'm not a mechanic but I have taken a "few" classes and have been under my hood for the past 2 years so I'm learning plus all of what I can fix is sitting on the top so its easy. HELP! neutral

# 2  5/23/2011 3:29 AM

TechHelp2
Administrator

Re: Overheating problems

When does the engine overheat, while driving or driving in city traffic or sitting still at idle like stuck in traffic?

Make sure the engine is warm to operation temperature.