Ford Contour:

1996 with start/accessories/ignition issues :(

You are not logged in.

# 1  5/5/2010 12:42 AM

argh226

1996 with start/accessories/ignition issues :(

Hi,
I might be difficult to understand since I'm no pro in this stuff, but here I go.

I did something ... just so stupid.  I inverted the booster cable while trying to boost it. Don't ask me how I did this, but I did.  I jumped the fuse #10 which is ignition and since then, nothing is working.

To me it looks like a short.  I bought another 20amp fuse to replace it and tried like that.  Just turned the key to accessories and I heard 1 beep (my door was still opened) and then nothing, the fuse was already dead.

Where should I start?

Thanks!

Michael.

# 2  5/5/2010 3:08 PM

TechHelp2
Administrator

Re: 1996 with start/accessories/ignition issues :(

How long were the cables crossed?

It is hard to tell what could have happened here, so many things could have gone wrong.

If you don't know much about the car it should be checked out by a professional.

If you do know what you are doing you can get yourself a short checker at a local auto part store. It is a circuit breaker that installs in the fuse slot of the blowing fuse. When the key is turned on the circuit breaker will keep popping this will protect the fuse circuit.
Then you start disconnecting components like relays, starter wires, alternator wires, and so on. When you find the area the problem is in then the circuit breaker will stop popping. If you are lucky it will be that component you disconnected. If not then you need to follow a wire schematic to follow the wires that are in the circuit. You could have melted some wires that are now touching metal parts of the car and grounding out causing the short. You can get the wire schematics from the ALLDATAdiy.com website or a good manual if you have one.

Last edited by TechHelp2 (5/5/2010 3:26 PM)

realworldautomotive.com
car and truck information like nowhere else

# 3  5/5/2010 4:44 PM