Chrysler LHS:

brake repair

You are not logged in.

# 1  4/20/2010 9:33 PM

mroman59

brake repair

I have a 1994 Chrysler LHS with read disc brakes. I have to change the emergency brake pads in addition to the rear brakes. The parking brake actuator lever seized up on one side and one emergency shoe wore down.

I am using a Haynes Repair manual for installation, but it does not answer the following question. 

Does the adjuster star wheel install in the same direction on both sides.  I noticed the orientation on one side, but on the other side I neglected to look.

I did notice one thing however, if I were to install them in opposite directions, I believe the star wheel on one side, would not line up with the hole in the backside of the brake backing plate for adjusting with a screw driver, so I am assuming that both star wheels should be oriented in the same direction.

Please advise, and thanks.

This is my first time using this site, I hope I am posting in the correct place.

# 2  4/20/2010 11:16 PM

TechHelp2
Administrator

Re: brake repair

The left adjuster has the left handed threads; the right has the right handed threads.

When installed correctly the adjuster wheel should align with the adjuster slot. You should be able to move the adjuster wheel one way and not the other. You know you have the correct side when you adjust the shoes and the adjuster wheel moves easily with each click and the adjuster will move out.

If you have them backwards you will notice the pedal get lower the longer you drive and the need to pump the brake pedal more than once to stop.

Last edited by TechHelp2 (4/20/2010 11:17 PM)

realworldautomotive.com
car and truck information like nowhere else

# 3  4/21/2010 12:49 AM

mroman59