Home » ShopTalk » Manufacturer » Chevrolet » Silverado » 2000 - A/C Compressor Not Engaging

ALLDATAdiy - Beyond The Printed Manuall. Diagnose, Repair, and Research all within the same source!
ShopTalk - Automotive Questions and Answers

2000 Chevrolet Silverado 1500:
A/C Compressor Not Engaging

By
Alex Steele
Save or Share Information
Print Page
E-mail Page

seen in Truck Trend

Question:

I'm experiencing a problem with my A/C compressor. It's never engaging when I hit the button to turn it on. I stopped at a car shop yesterday and they told me it's charged with Freon and that they think it is an electrical problem.

Well, since I'm an electrician not a mechanic I figured I might be able to troubleshoot the problem. All fuses seemed to be ok by sight and checked good with my meter. The larger relay in the electrical box had continuity between two diagonal poles.

Sorry for the length of the question, just trying to be informative. Thanks a lot, and I forgot to tell you it's a 2000 model Chevrolet Silverado 1500 with the 5.3-liter V8.

Answer:

Trust me, there's never too much information in a reader's question, unless there's 12 questions in a reader's question. Note: a U.S. built 2000 model year truck uses R134a refrigerant, not Freon (R12).

OK, you're on the right track. If the system is fully charged (pressure correct), but the A/C compressor clutch does not engage, the fault is electrical. You're experience as an electrician directed you to first check the basics (fuses), and now it's time to trace the circuit and determine what we lost (power or ground) and where we lost it.